Firsts and Lasts Part 1.5

Firsts and Lasts

From “A Softer World”– click for link to original comic.

January 22 marked the first day of the last semester of my college experience. I am still vaguely in the calm before the storm of work slated for this semester, not to mention the fencing and a capella shenanigans planned. I am hoping this semester is not like last semester, where I had a hard time handling how overwhelmingly busy I was. No matter what, though, I am promising myself that I will make the most of these next few months.

I am starting to realize that I will leave this college all too soon. I will never again get to live in a place with people all my own age, never get to take classes so intellectually stimulating, and never be surrounded by people who I know are going through the same brain-wracking and eye-opening experience as me. It reminds me of my last few weeks in Argentina, where I tried to re-experience everything I loved about the city in just a few short days. The main difference here is that I’m getting these feelings months ahead of time. I have months to experience, understand, and grow.

I know I will get bogged down with work, start feeling sluggish, and want to wish my time away. I also know that every day is a new day with a new lesson with a new (and final) set of college experiences. And I plan to make the most of them.

Also, yesterday was my birthday! I am 22 now! Whee!

This was pretty much my reaction all day:

Continuing with the first and lasts theme, yesterday was the first time I actually got to celebrate my birthday on my birthday while I’ve been in college. Our fencing schedule has always worked out so that I have practice or a meet during my birthday weekend, but this year our meet was the day before my birthday. Yesterday was also the last time I’ll ever get to celebrate my birthday in college, which made it that much more special. I celebrated with my friends on Saturday night (and into Sunday… obviously), and during the day my parents came to take me out to brunch. My mom even baked my favorite cake in the world! Being able to fully celebrate my birthday this year made me remember just how important it is to surround yourself with people who love you– I am thankful for each and every one of you. What a great way to start off the year, and an even better reminder to live life one day at a time.  🙂

Got somethin' to say? Leave a reply!

