Pumpkin Bread & The Long Hiatus

Hello! Happy holidays and almost happy new year to all my readers!

Every time I come back from some sort of break I feel an urge to write a witty yet apologetic blurb about where I’ve been. This time, I’m going to keep it short and sweet so we can get to the good stuff: I’ve been busy, busy, busy– senior year is the craziest I’ve ever been in my entire life– but thanks to winter break I’m back for at least a little bit. It’s a couple of days early, but my New Year’s resolution is going to be to blog more, bake more, and knit more.

The good thing for all of us is that I’ve already started this resolution! I left my sweater at school, but I’ve been working on a pair of fingerless gloves for my cold dorm. I’ve also been doing quite a bunch of baking, like this lovely pull-apart cinnamon-sugar pumpkin bread:
DSC_0306edit

I don’t know what it is about pumpkin, but I could eat it pumpkin baked goods all year round. Maybe it’s the spices used with pumpkin, the feelings it conjures, or the aura of fall that surrounds it. Whatever it is, pumpkin baked anything just makes me feel at home.

The recipe for this pull-apart bread (found here) is wonderfully easy, even though it’s a yeasted bread. To be honest, I don’t have a lot of experience working with yeast; I’m the type of girl who usually to whip something up, pop it in the oven, and be done with it, and usually can’t be bothered to wait for something to rise. This bread has taught me that the waiting is worth it.

This bread was everything I look for in something with pumpkin. It was spiced, sugared, and the yeast gave it a depth that pumpkin pie doesn’t have. To top it all off, the sugar in between the layers got gooey, sticky, and scrumptious in the oven. The original recipe calls for an additional sugared glaze on top, but the bread is sweet enough that it’s prefect without the glaze. It was so good, in fact, that when I made it this past fall, Clara and I ate the entire thing in one sitting.

If you have some time to bake bread over these holidays, I would highly recommend baking this. It might not be fall anymore, but it’ll make any place feel like home.

DSC_0307editcrop

Next up: New Year’s cupcakes!

3 responses

Got somethin' to say? Leave a reply!

