Still alive, I promise! + news + pho

So… yes. I kind of dropped off the face of the planet for a while. For everyone who thought my plane might have disappeared in a Lost-esque situation on the way back from Argentina, I’m sorry to disappoint.

I like to tell myself that I haven’t been posting because I’ve been readjusting to living in the US. Which is true! Or, at least, was— while I’m still adjusting the recent truth is that I was not at all prepared for all the free time I don’t have now that I’m back at college. Seriously. I run from place to place to place and have so much stuff to do all the time and yet am somehow managing to sleep, which is a real-life miracle.

That’s not to say that I didn’t do work while I was in Argentina. I actually did a lot of reading, and one of my classes was even more challenging than some of the classes at my top-notch US college. The difference, I think, is that while I have more work here in the US I also have more activities. In Buenos Aires I would finish my work and then have time to hang out with my family or go out and explore. Here, I finish fencing practice, finish a capella practice, and then still have all my homework to do. All my time is taken up either by homework or other commitments, and that, I think, is what’s killing me. Don’t get me wrong; I absolutely love everything I’m doing. I know that it’s just that I’ve had a taste of what free time can be like and am missing it now that I don’t have any, but it’s seriously getting me down.

Something that’s keeping me happy, though, is the new boy! I know, right? Surprise! The serial monogamist strikes again. But really, this boy is wonderful. He’s from my study abroad program, and even though that means it’s long-distance (womp, womp) he’s only a few hours away by train. So far I’ve been wonderfully happy and expect to be so for a while.  🙂

In other news… I’m back to being a suburb gal. The biggest difference between suburb and city is that here, everything is so spread out. Not that Buenos Aires wasn’t– as the seventh largest city in the world I would call it anything BUT that. I guess the difference is that it’s easier to get around in a city. A half-hour bus ride wasn’t so bad because the bus stops were generally no more than three blocks away. I walked briskly to the stop, waited for a little bit, and then got to do some reading or people-watching during my trip. Here, however, the train station is a ten-minute walk away, and even though the commute is the same old half hour, for some reason it feels completely different. I did get into the city today, though, which was a wonderful experience. My friend Brian took me to a Vietnamese restaurant for my first-ever pho, and believe me when I say that if you haven’t already tried it, YOU MUST!!! Seriously. See how delicious it looks??

Now take that deliciousness and multiply it by like a thousand. The base is broth with rice noodles, scallions, and paper-thin slices of beef. The beef starts cooking in the broth as soon as you get it, which is pretty cool and means that you get to eat it at exactly the right level of cooked-ness. Plus the sauces you can eat with it… mmm, the sauces. I’m so glad I went with Brian because he sure knows what he’s talking about. We rounded off the day with a lovely bubble tea experience, and then on the way out of the city I ended up on the same train as my fencing coach. Ha!

All in all, it’s been a pretty awesome day. And now I’m back (for realsies)! Which means that everyone has reason to celebrate.  😉

Got somethin' to say? Leave a reply!

