Holy Guacamole!

I don’t think I’ve written about it before, but my host mom Silvia loves guacamole. Seriously. She thinks it is dance-and- song worthy and has actually both sung and danced about it. During one of the first weeks of me being here, during a dinner when my family was both tired as anything and hitting the wine pretty hard, guacamole came up somehow in conversation and Silvia got up from the table. At first she just started shaking her hips and we were all pretty confused about what was going on, but soon after started  to sing-song chant “guacamole guacamole guacamole!” and dancing around the kitchen!

I sort of forgot about her obsession until we made Mexican food– when I told her the next day what we ended up making, her eyes lit up as soon as the first syllable of “guacamole” left my mouth. So today my first order of business was going down to the corner verdulería to buy the necessary vegetables so I could whip up a batch for the family. I ended up using 3 avocados– or paltas, as they’re called here, NOT aguacates like in Mexico– which yielded a fair amount of guacamole.

Silvia came home soon after I was done making it and was super excited when I told her what I’d made for her! She said she doesn’t normally eat lunch at midday, but we sat down and finished off a significant amount of it plus some tuna salad I put my extra avocado and a tomato into. It was a wonderful way to share lunch with her, and a great excuse to give her a break from working on things for her art exposition, which opens in only a month!

Much more delicious-looking than Paint art, no?

Guacamole is also spectacularly easy to make. Seriously. If you like it and haven’t tried it before, well… you should. And I’m posting my process below (plus some handy spanish vocab) so you have no excuse not to!

GUACAMOLE

For this batch, I used:

3 avocados (paltas)

1 medium tomato (tomate)

1 small onion (cebolla)

1 clove of garlie (ajo)

lemon and salt to taste, but you’re gonna want a good amount of lemon.

Cut the avocados in half and scoop out the meat with a spoon, removing the pit. My friend Rachel, the Guacamole Queen, likes to mash up her avocados first but I decided to chop them because I thought it was prettier. Throw them in a bowl, then chop the tomato and the onion and throw those in, as well. Crush the garlic with the flat of the knife and then mince it as finely as possible– it could probably use more garlic, in reality, so feel free to add some more. Then salt it and lemon it– I ended up using a white vinegar-lemon combo just because we ran out of lemon, but lemon by itself is definitely better.

Mix it all up (sort of gently so the avocado doesn’t turn into a squishy mess) and ta-da! Your very own guacamole! Whoo!

I also made a bit of a variation with my extra avocado, a tomato, an onion, and a can of tuna that also came out pretty well, but a shot of lemon would have made it even better.Corn chips don’t really exist in this country– the closest we could find last weekend was Doritos– so today we ate them with crackers. Though I’m sure I don’t have to tell you how to eat guacamole! Happy eating!

Got somethin' to say? Leave a reply!

